Memoirs

Showing 1–16 of 167 results

  • ‘Mum, what’s wrong with you?’

    £9.99

    ‘Mum, what’s wrong with you?’

    Sunday Times bestseller

    ‘The mothering manual we all need’ Claudia Winkleman

    Calling all Mums:

    Are you feeling lonely and confused?

    Are you panicking that you’re getting everything wrong?

    Do you feel as if your relationship with your teenage daughter has worsened overnight?

    £9.99
  • A body made of glass

    £16.99

    A body made of glass

    An ache, a pain, a mysterious lump, a strange sensation in some part of your body, the feeling that something is not right. The fear that something is, in fact, very wrong. These could be symptoms of illness. But they could also be the symptoms of hypochondria – an enigmatic condition that might be physiological or psychological or both. In this landmark book, Caroline Crampton tells the story of hypochondria, beginning in the age of Hippocrates and taking us right through to the wellness industry today.

    SKU: 9781783789054 Category: Tags: , ,
    £16.99
  • A flat place

    £16.99

    A flat place

    Noreen Masud has always loved flatlands. Her earliest memory is of a wide, flat field glimpsed from the back seat of her father’s car in Lahore. As an adult in Britain she’s discovered many more flat landscapes to love: Orford Ness, Morecambe Bay, the Cambridgeshire Fens, Orkney. These bare, haunted expanses remind her of the flat place inside herself: the place created by trauma. Noreen suffers from complex post-traumatic stress disorder: the product of a profoundly disrupted and unstable childhood. It flattens her emotions, blanks out parts of her memory, and colours her world with anxiety. Undertaking a pilgrimage around Britain’s flatlands, seeking solace and belonging, she weaves her impressions of the natural world with poetry, folklore and history, and with recollections of her own early life.

    SKU: 9780241544051 Category: Tags: , ,
    £16.99
  • A flat place

    £10.99

    A flat place

    Noreen Masud has always loved flatlands. Her earliest memory is of a wide, flat field glimpsed from the back seat of her father’s car in Lahore. As an adult in Britain she’s discovered many more flat landscapes to love: Orford Ness, Morecambe Bay, the Cambridgeshire Fens, Orkney. These bare, haunted expanses remind her of the flat place inside herself: the place created by trauma. Noreen suffers from complex post-traumatic stress disorder: the product of a profoundly disrupted and unstable childhood. It flattens her emotions, blanks out parts of her memory, and colours her world with anxiety. Undertaking a pilgrimage around Britain’s flatlands, seeking solace and belonging, she weaves her impressions of the natural world with poetry, folklore and history, and with recollections of her own early life.

    SKU: 9780241994337 Category: Tags: , ,
    £10.99
  • A Jihad For Love

    £5.99

    A Jihad For Love

    A heartbreaking plea for tolerance and compassion from Mohamed El-Bachiri, who lost his wife Loubna in the Brussels attack of March 2016.

    £5.99
  • A life of contrasts

    £12.99

    A life of contrasts

    In ‘A Life of Contrasts’, the honourable Diana Mitford, the most glamorous of Britain’s Bright Young Things, rivetingly narrates her long life in her own inimitable Mitford way. Author Evelyn Waugh and politician Oswald Mosley fell in love with her, as well as Britain’s richest man, and she knew not only Winston Churchill – her uncle – but also Adolf Hitler. She was a guest in the grandest houses in Britain but also lived in Holloway Prison, London. Later the Duke and Duchess of Windsor entered her life, followed by Nelson Mandela. Hers is a uniquely intimate memoir from an exceptional perspective.

    £12.99
  • A Short Walk in the Hindu Kush

    £10.99

    A Short Walk in the Hindu Kush

    A classic of travel writing, A Short Walk in the Hindu Kush is Eric Newby’s iconic account of his journey through one of the most remote and beautiful wildernesses on earth.

    £10.99
  • A silent language

    £6.99

    A silent language

    Published in book form for the first time, Jon Fosse’s Nobel Lecture, delivered in Stockholm in December 2023, translated by Damion Searls. 

    SKU: 9781804271230 Category: Tags: , ,
    £6.99
  • A very private school

    £25.00

    A very private school

    In this poignant memoir, Charles Spencer recounts the trauma of being sent away from home at age eight to attend a boarding school.

    £25.00
  • A woman’s place is in the kitchen

    £22.00

    A woman’s place is in the kitchen

    In ‘A Woman’s Place is in the Kitchen’, Sally Abé draws back the curtain on the good, and bad, and downright ugly of restaurant kitchens; and how they might be changed for the better. A stirring manifesto for change, it’s also the story of how a girl from Sheffield who used to cook herself Smash to get by is now one of the most successful fine-dining chefs working today.

    £22.00
  • A Woman’s Story – WINNER OF THE 2022 NOBEL PRIZE IN LITERATURE

    £9.99

    A Woman’s Story – WINNER OF THE 2022 NOBEL PRIZE IN LITERATURE

    A deeply affecting tribute to her mother’s life and death by Annie Ernaux, winner of the 2022 Nobel Prize in Literature. 

    SKU: 9781804270943 Category: Tags: , ,
    £9.99
  • Abroad in Japan

    £10.99

    Abroad in Japan

    When Englishman Chris Broad landed in a rural village in northern Japan he wondered if he’d made a huge mistake. With no knowledge of the language and zero teaching experience, was he was about to be the most quickly fired English teacher in Japan’s history? ‘Abroad in Japan’ charts a decade of living in a foreign land and the chaos and culture clash that comes with it. Packed with hilarious and fascinating stories, this book seeks out to unravel one the world’s most mysterious and impenetrable cultures. Spanning 10 years and 47 prefectures, Chris takes us from the chilling summit of Mount Fuji to the chaotic neon-lit streets of Tokyo.

    SKU: 9781804992227 Category: Tags: ,
    £10.99
  • Adventureholic

    £20.00

    Adventureholic

    Adventureholic invites readers on a roller-coaster ride around seven continents, as adventurer Neil Laughton details the extraordinary expeditions undertaken by him and his friends: from summiting Mount Everest with Bear Grylls to piloting the world’s first road-legal flying car on a 10,000km journey across the Sahara Desert to Timbuktu.

    £20.00
  • Alphabetical diaries

    £10.99

    Alphabetical diaries

    A thrilling confessional from the award-winning author of Pure Colour, in the vein of Joe Brainard and Edouard Levé. 

    £10.99
  • Among others

    £25.00

    Among others

    Michael Frayn would like to say a brief word about a few of the friends who have shaped his life – ‘before my memory goes’. Some have had a profound effect. Some, a small and passing one. Some, you may know yourself. Some you couldn’t possibly know at all; and maybe nor did Michael (there are stories of loves and tragedies here they you won’t soon forget). Michael’s acquaintances haven’t always been other people. How, for instance, did he get along with his own body over the years, especially now, as ninety approaches? And what of that oldest and strangest of friends: storytelling?

    SKU: 9780571378609 Category: Tags: ,
    £25.00
  • An uneasy inheritance

    £22.00

    An uneasy inheritance

    While for generations Polly Toynbee’s ancestors have been committed left-wing rabble-rousers railing against injustice, they could never claim to be working class, settling instead for the prosperous life of academia or journalism enjoyed by their own forebears. So where does that leave their ideals of class equality? Through a colourful, entertaining examination of her own family – which in addition to her writer father Philip and her historian grandfather Arnold contains everyone from the Glenconners to Jessica Mitford to Bertrand Russell, and features ancestral home Castle Howard as a backdrop – Toynbee explores the myth of mobility, the guilt of privilege, and asks for a truly honest conversation about class in Britain.

    SKU: 9781838958350 Category: Tags: , ,
    £22.00