Beetle Boy

Darkus can’t believe it when a huge insect drops out of the trouser leg of his horrible new neighbour. It’s a giant beetle – and it seems to want to communicate. But how can a boy be friends with a beetle? And what does a beetle have to do with the disappearance of his dad and the arrival of Lucretia Cutter, with her taste for creepy jewellery?

£6.99

 

The first book in the bestselling BATTLE OF THE BEETLES series - perfect for fans of Roald Dahl!

Winner of the Branford Boase Award
Shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize
Shortlisted for the Books Are My Bag Children's Book Award

'Truly great storytelling.' MICHAEL MORPURGO

'I predict Beetle-mania' THE TIMES

'Roald Dahl meets 101 Dalmatians in a rollicking ride, full of adventure with vivid characters' EXPRESS

Darkus can't believe his eyes when a huge insect drops out of the trouser leg of his horrible new neighbour. It's a giant beetle - and it seems to want to communicate.

But how can a boy be friends with a beetle? And what does a beetle have to do with the disappearance of his dad and the arrival of Lucretia Cutter, with her taste for creepy jewellery?

  • The first book in MG Leonard's acclaimed trilogy, followed by Beetle Queen and Battle of the Beetles!
  • Featuring exotic beetles, a daring quest, a mixture of bold male and female characters and a truly venomous villain
  • Heartfelt themes underlie the adventure, as Darkus strives to find his missing dad and makes new meaningful relationships in the process
  • From the author of the Adventure on Trains series, co-written with Sam Sedgman

Additional information

Weight 320 g
Dimensions 198 × 139 × 24 mm
Author

M., G. Leonard

Publisher

Chicken House

Imprint

Chicken House

Cover

Paperback

Pages

322

Language

English

Edition

Paperback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

Ages 5-12 / Code: B