Darwins Dragons

Syms Covington has landed the job of a lifetime on Charles Darwin’s ship. But after being shipwrecked on a Galapagos island, he makes a discovery that could change the world – and make his fortune. Should he share his find, or will it lead to the extinction of a legendary species?

£6.99

In stock

 

How to Train Your Dragon meets Robinson Crusoe in this high-flying dragon adventure from Lindsay Galvin!

'A striking and original adventure ... just the sort of story I love.' EMMA CARROLL

'WHAT a voyage! [Darwin's Dragons] is everything you hope it will be ...' LUCY STRANGE

'[A] beautifully fictionalised story' THE TELEGRAPH

Syms Covington has landed the job of a lifetime - cabin boy and fiddler on Charles Darwin's Beagle - but when he is separated from the crew during a storm, his life takes a truly extraordinary turn.

Shipwrecked on a Galapagos island, he makes a discovery that could change the world - and make his fortune. But should he share his find, or will it lead to the extinction of a legendary species?

There's one person who could help, but he's busy writing a book ...

  • Based on a true story and Charles Darwin's real journal!
  • Perfect for fans of Cornelia Funke's Dragon Rider or Cressida Cowell's How to Train Your Dragon series.
  • Effortlessly blends exciting adventure with a rip-roaring historical story and non-fiction elements.

Additional information

Weight 250 g
Dimensions 198 × 135 × 22 mm
Author

Galvin, Lindsay

Publisher

Chicken House

Imprint

Chicken House

Cover

Paperback

Pages

256

Language

English

Edition

Paperback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

Ages 5-12 / Code: B