Medusa

Exiled to a far-flung island by the whims of the gods, Medusa has little company except the snakes that adorn her head instead of hair. But when a charmed, beautiful boy called Perseus arrives on the island, her lonely existence is disrupted with the force of a supernova, unleashing desire, love and betrayal.

£8.99

Out of stock

'A beautiful and profound retelling' - Madeline Miller, author of The Song of Achilles and Circe'Gives the serpent-headed monster of myth a powerful and haunting humanity' - Jennifer Saint, author of Ariadne and Elektra _________________If I told you that I'd killed a man with a glance, would you wait to hear the rest? The why, the how, what happened next?Monster. Man-hater. Murderess. Forget everything you've been told about Medusa.Internationally bestselling author Jessie Burton flips the script in this astonishing retelling of Greek myth, illuminating the woman behind the legend at last.Exiled to a far-flung island after being abused by powerful Gods, Medusa has little company other than the snakes that adorn her head instead of hair. Haunted by the memories of a life before everything was stolen from her, she has no choice but to make peace with her present: Medusa the Monster. But when the charmed and beautiful Perseus arrives on the island, her lonely existence is blown apart, unleashing desire, love... and betrayal. Adapted from the hardback illustrated by Olivia Lomenech-Gill, this paperback edition is perfect for readers who loved Circe and Ariadne, as Medusa comes alive in a new version of the story that history set in stone long ago. _________________'? a must-read for women of all ages' - Red magazine'Utterly transporting' - Guardian Books of the Year'? an impressive addition to the shelves of feminist retellings, balancing rage with beautiful storytelling' - Irish Times

Additional information

Weight 158 g
Dimensions 198 × 129 × 21 mm
Author

Publisher

Bloomsbury

Imprint

Bloomsbury

Cover

Paperback

Pages

170

Language

English

Edition

1st paperback ed

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

Young Adult / Code: C