Weasels in the attic

Two friends meet across three dinners. In the back room of a pet shop, they snack on dried shrimps and discuss fish-breeding. In a remote new home in the mountains, they look for a solution to a weasel infestation. During a dinner party in a blizzard, a mounting claustrophobia makes way for uneasy dreams. Their conversations often take them in surprising directions, but when one of the men becomes a father, more and more is left unsaid. With emotional acuity and a wry humour, ‘Weasels in the Attic’ it is an uncanny and striking reflection on fertility, masculinity, and marriage in contemporary Japan.

£9.99

In stock

A UK debut from a fresh, prize-winning talent, this quietly surreal novel is perfect for fans of Sayaka Murata and Mieko KawakamiTwo friends meet across three dinners. In the back room of a pet shop, they snack on dried shrimps and discuss fish-breeding. In a remote new home in the mountains, they look for a solution to a weasel infestation. During a dinner party in a blizzard, a mounting claustrophobia makes way for uneasy dreams. Their conversations often take them in surprising directions, but when one of the men becomes a father, more and more is left unsaid. With emotional acuity and a wry humour, Weasels in the Attic it is an uncanny and striking reflection on fertility, masculinity, and marriage in contemporary Japan.

Additional information

Weight 68 g
Dimensions 198 × 129 × 4 mm
Author

Publisher

Granta Books

Imprint

Granta Books

Cover

Paperback

Pages

80

Language

English

Edition

1st paperback ed

Dewey

895.636 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K