Fiction Crime

Showing 109–120 of 188 results

  • Alchemy

    £9.99

    Alchemy

    The new historical crime thriller, a Sunday Times bestseller, perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Hilary Mantel

    £9.99
  • The secret

    £9.99

    The secret

    Chicago. 1992. A hospital patient wakes to find two strangers by his bed. They show him a list of names and ask a simple but impossible question. Minutes later he falls to his death from his twelfth-floor window – a fall which generates some unexpected attention. That attention comes from the Secretary of Defense, who calls for an inter-agency task force to investigate. Jack Reacher, recently demoted from Major, is assigned as the Army’s representative. If he gets a result, great. If not, he’s a convenient fall guy. Reacher may be an exceptional military investigator, but office politics aren’t what gets him up in the morning. As he races to identify a cold-blooded killer and uncover a secret that stretches back 23 years, he must navigate around his new partners. Will Reacher bring the bad guys to justice the official way – or his way?

    SKU: 9780552177566 Category: Tags: ,
    £9.99
  • Hokey pokey

    £9.99

    Hokey pokey

    The Regent Hotel in Birmingham is a place of lush glamour, where guests sip absinthe cocktails on velvet banquettes and obliging waiters are always on hand. Yet behind its glittering faade, you might find monsters lurking in the shadows. On a cold February evening, Nora Dickinson checks in. A psychoanalyst with a dubious past, Nora has battled not to let her own demons overcome her. But when a terrible snowstorm cuts The Regent off from the outside world, the entire hotel’s grip on reality slips – and the nightmares Nora’s worked so hard to control begin to bare their teeth.

    SKU: 9781789543872 Category: Tag:
    £9.99
  • The spy across the water

    £9.99

    The spy across the water

    Will Flemyng, originally trained as a spy, is now British ambassador to Washington. Meanwhile, his older brother Mungo is recuperating from a heart attack in their beloved Scottish-Highland family home, and Abel, the youngest of the three, has died mysteriously in America. Abel’s unexplained death sets in motion an unstoppable chain of events, beginning with an unexpected glimpse of a face at his funeral. Soon Will finds himself on a dangerous journey into his clandestine past, from conflict in Ireland to the long shadows of the Cold War. Will possesses a silky veneer, but he often doesn’t know who to trust, nor who trusts him. Now he finds himself alone once again as duty forces him to risk everything. Why has the past come back to haunt him now?

    £9.99
  • Hotel Arcadia

    £9.99

    Hotel Arcadia

    A high octane thriller, capturing the extraordinary capacity of humans to retain compassion in extreme circumstances

    £9.99
  • Tomás Nevinson

    £10.99

    Tomás Nevinson

    Tomás Nevinson has left the secret service and returned to his old job working in the British Embassy in Madrid. Assumed dead by his wife Berta, Tomás attempts to resume his previous life and heal from his psychological wounds. But when he is contacted by his old boss, Bertram Tupra, Nevinson reluctantly becomes involved in a plan to locate and eliminate a woman believed to have helped orchestrate the 1987 Hipercor bombing. Detonated by the ETA, a Basque separatist group, the bomb killed 21 people and injured 45. Full of mesmerising intrigue, this novel offers a deep reflection into the moral dilemma of whether the killing of a presumed criminal can be justified.

    £10.99
  • Death on the Thames

    £20.00

    Death on the Thames

    1999. As London prepares for the Millennium, a serial rapist is stalking the River Thames. A junior female police officer in a world dominated by men, Detective Constable Louise Mangan is desperate for the chance to prove herself, and when she brings in the culprit almost single-handedly, she believes the people of Hampton Court can rest easy at last. But the worst is yet to come. Soon word reaches the police of a deadly criminal operation at the heart of this leafy suburb. Now Mangan finds herself undercover, getting closer to answers each day. The truth is right there, hiding in plain sight on the water for all the world to see. But she needs to watch her step – the river runs deep, and no one will be there to catch her should she fall.

    £20.00
  • Just between us

    £9.99

    Just between us

    An unmissable thriller that readers are calling ‘the best book ever’ from the Sunday Times Number One bestselling author of Both Of You?

    £9.99
  • The house of mirrors

    £16.99

    The house of mirrors

    In the sweltering summer of 1997, straight-laced, straight-A student Karen met Biba – a bohemian and impossibly glamorous aspiring actress. A few months later, two people were dead and another had been sent to prison. Having stood by Rex as he served his sentence, Karen is now married to him with a daughter, Alice, who runs a vintage clothing company in London. They’re a normal family, as long as they don’t talk about the past, never mention the name Biba, and ignore Alice’s flashes of dark, dangerous fury. Karen has kept what really happened that summer of ’97 hidden deep inside her. Alice is keeping secrets of her own. But when anonymous notes begin to arrive at Alice’s shop, it seems the past is about to catch up with them all.

    £16.99
  • The potting shed murder

    £16.99

    The potting shed murder

    Daphne Brewster has left London behind and is settling into her family’s new life in rural Norfolk, planting broad beans in raised beds and vintage hunting for their farmhouse. But when the local headmaster is found dead amongst his allotment cabbages, the village is ablaze: Who would kill beloved Mr Papplewick, pillar of the community? Daphne soon comes to realise perhaps the countryside isn’t so idyllic after all. When the headmaster’s widow points her finger at Minnerva, Daphne’s new friend, Daphne vows to clear her name. Sneaking into the crime scene and chasing down rumours gets her into hot water with the local inspector – until she comes across a faded photograph that unearths a secret buried for forty years. They say nothing bad ever happens in close-knit Pudding Corner, but Daphne is close to the truth – dangerously close.

    SKU: 9780349703763 Category: Tags: ,
    £16.99
  • The library thief

    £16.99

    The library thief

    1896. After he brought her home from Jamaica as a baby, Florence’s father had her hair hot-combed to make her look like the other girls. But as a young woman, Florence is not so easy to tame – and when she brings scandal to his door, the bookbinder throws her onto the streets of Manchester. Intercepting her father’s latest commission, Florence talks her way into the remote, forbidding Rose Hall to restore its collection of rare books. Lord Francis Belfield’s library is old and full of secrets – but none so intriguing as the whispers about his late wife. Then one night, the library is broken into. Strangely, all the priceless tomes remain untouched. Florence is puzzled, until she discovers a half-burned book in the fireplace. She realises with horror that someone has found and set fire to the secret diary of Lord Belfield’s wife – which may hold the clue to her fate.

    £16.99
  • London particular

    £9.99

    London particular

    Night falls in London, and a ‘London particular’ pea-souper fog envelops the city. In Maida Vale, Rose and her family doctor Tedwards race through the dark after a man has telephoned claiming that he has been struck by an assailant in Rose’s house. Arriving after an achingly protracted journey through the impenetrable fog, the victim, Raoul Vernet, is dead. The news which he had brought from Switzerland for Rose’s mother, was never delivered.

    SKU: 9780712355407 Category: Tag:
    £9.99