Fiction Crime

Showing 169–180 of 188 results

  • The running grave

    £10.99

    The running grave

    Private Detective Cormoran Strike is contacted by a worried father whose son, Will, has gone to join a religious cult in the depths of the Norfolk countryside. The Universal Humanitarian Church is, on the surface, a peaceable organisation that campaigns for a better world. Yet Strike discovers that beneath the surface there are deeply sinister undertones, and unexplained deaths. In order to try to rescue Will, Strike’s business partner Robin Ellacott decides to infiltrate the cult and she travels to Norfolk to live incognito amongst them. But in doing so, she is unprepared for the dangers that await her there or for the toll it will take on her.

    £10.99
  • The lady vanishes

    £9.99

    The lady vanishes

    Iris, an English girl holidaying in the Balkans, becomes friendly with Miss Froy, a middle-aged governess. They return to England on the same train, but when Miss Froy disappears, a doctor tries to persuade Iris that Miss Froy never existed.

    £9.99
  • The queen of poisons

    £9.99

    The queen of poisons

    The top 10 Sunday Times bestseller

    NOW A MAJOR TV SERIES on Drama and UKTV Play

    ‘I love the audacity of the Marlow gang, those ladies sure know how to live’ Reader review ?????

    £9.99
  • The midnight hour

    £16.99

    The midnight hour

    Notting Hill, London. One May evening, seventeen-year-old Maggie Parker’s mother walks out of their front door and doesn’t return. With her little brother in tow, desperate to find her mother, Maggie is drawn into a labyrinthine world of antiques and shadowy figures, far from the grand stucco terraces. There she befriends another young person living on their wits. But can he help solve the mystery of her mother’s disappearance? Twenty-one years later, in a Parisian apartment, Maggie’s phone rings and her hard-won grown-up life shatters. While in London, the new owner of the Parker’s old Notting Hill house is excavating a basement, unaware of what might lie beneath, and the clock starts ticking on buried secrets.

    £16.99
  • The best revenge

    £9.99

    The best revenge

    On the Mongolian steppes a general in the People’s Liberation Army stakes his career, and his life, on a GPS-free missile guidance system that will change the balance of power on the battlefield. In Bath a young Chinese woman has secured the affections of a young brainiac working on that very problem. In Leamington Spa a deep cover operative has given himself away. And in London Jonas Merrick watches all, assessing, planning. A moment, perhaps, for him to strike a blow to China’s espionage network in the UK. One thing he does not see, however, is in Moscow. An order given: ‘bring me his head’.

    £9.99
  • Our holiday

    £9.99

    Our holiday

    A gripping new summer thriller from the bestselling author of Our House, full of characters you’ll love to hate and twists you’ll never see coming!

    £9.99
  • The knowing

    £9.99

    The knowing

    Beautiful, intoxicating and full of suspense, The Knowing is a story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution and how women survive and weaponize trauma.

    £9.99
  • Another Person

    £9.99

    Another Person

    A compulsively readable and razor-sharp campus novel about the impact of power and consent in a university settingPerfect for fans of Cho Nam-joo, I May Destroy You, and If We Were Villains by M. L. RioRiveting and uncompromising, Another Person explores the long-lasting consequences of the sexism and misogyny fostered in universities.Vacuum cleaner bitch.When Jina sees this anonymous comment on a forum it forces her out of her stupor. It is posted on a website dissecting her public allegations of workplace sexual assault, the backlash to which forced her to quit her job. She has spent months glued to her laptop screen, junk-food packaging piling up around her, tracking the hate campaign that’s raging against her online. This post stands out from the noise, for it could only have been made by someone who knew her as a student at university.The comment stirs something deeply repressed. So Jina returns to Anjin University, and to the toxi

    £9.99
  • The golden gate

    £9.99

    The golden gate

    Berkeley, California 1944: A former presidential candidate is assassinated in one of the rooms at the opulent Claremont Hotel. A rich industrialist, Walter Wilkinson could have been targeted by any number of adversaries. But Detective Al Sullivan’s investigation brings up the spectre of another tragedy at the Claremont ten years earlier: the death of seven-year-old Iris Stafford, a member of the wealthy and influential Bainbridge family. Some say she haunts the Claremont still. The many threads of the case keep leading Sullivan back to the three remaining Bainbridge heiresses, now adults: Iris’s sister, Isabella, and her cousins Cassie and Nicole. Determined not to let anything distract him from the truth, Sullivan follows his investigation to its devastating conclusion.

    £9.99
  • Dark Mode

    £8.99

    Dark Mode

    Once you’re online, there’s nowhere to hide  Is it paranoia – or is someone watching?   For years, Reagan Carsen has kept her life offline. No socials. No internet presence. No photos. Safe.    Until the day she stumbles on a shocking murder in a Sydney laneway. The victim looks just like her.  Coincidence?    As more murders shake the city and she’s increasingly drawn out from hiding, Reagan is forced to confront her greatest fear.  She’s been found.    A riveting psychological thriller drawn from true events, Dark Mode delves into the terrifying reality of the dark web, and the price we pay for surrendering our privacy one click at a time.PRAISE for Dark Mode LoveReading Book of the Month April 2023 ‘A Hitchcockian chiller with a powerful sense of rampant terror’ – Maxim Jakubowski, Crime Time ‘Drawn from real life cases, this brilliantly twisty thriller exposes the grim

    £8.99
  • The Siberia job

    £9.99

    The Siberia job

    After the demise of the Soviet Union, the newly established government privatises its industry by issuing vouchers to all of its citizens, giving them the chance to be shareholders in the country’s burgeoning businesses. For those living in abject poverty, the vouchers appear to be little more than pieces of paper. But for Texas businessman John Mills and his Czech companion, Petr Kovac, the chits suggest a lucrative potential. They travel to the furthest, coldest reaches of the country, roving from town to town with suitcases full of cash. The two men quickly learn that the plan has complications – the auctions at which these vouchers are traded for actual shares have been planned at the most remote locations possible to deter outsiders from buying in. And when the Russian mafia and oligarchs catch wind of their successes, the stakes suddenly become deadly.

    £9.99
  • West Heart kill

    £9.99

    West Heart kill

    It’s the Fourth of July weekend at the prestigious West Heart country club. Gathered for cocktails on the first evening are just some of the guests: the club president, the treasurer and his pregnant wife, the snooping school boy, the bereaved father, the taciturn caretaker, the prospective member, the private detective. And there will also be a body. And a fiendish mystery to solve. But everything else is all to play for. And you are about to find out that you have a role to play in this mystery too.

    £9.99