Cultural studies

Showing all 13 results

  • England’s Green

    £20.00

    England’s Green

    An exploration of how environmental concerns have shaped and reflected English national identity since the 1960s.

    £20.00
  • Fashion

    £8.99

    Fashion

    Fashion is a global industry, and plays a role in our economic, political, cultural, and social lives. However, fashion is often denigrated as trivial and superficial, a sign of vanity and narcissism. This Very Short Introduction will give a clear understanding of how fashion has developed while addressing these divergent views.

    SKU: 9780199547906 Category: Tags: ,
    £8.99
  • Feminism

    £8.99

    Feminism

    This book provides an historical account of feminism, exploring its earliest roots and key issues such as voting rights and the liberation of the sixties. Margaret Walters brings the subject completely up to date by providing a global analysis of the situation of women, from Europe and the United States to Third World countries.

    £8.99
  • Four stars

    £16.99

    Four stars

    The second book from acclaimed writer and journalist Joel Golby

    ‘There’s no one funnier than Joel Golby’ GREG JAMES

    ‘I love this book’ DOLLY ALDERTON

    £16.99
  • French cinema

    £8.99

    French cinema

    It is often claimed that the French invented cinema, and although their prominence may have been supplanted by Hollywood today, the French film industry remains both prolific and highly lauded. Exploring the entire French cinematic oeuvre, Andrew teases out the distinguishing themes, to bring the defining features of French cinema to light.

    £8.99
  • Into the dark

    £16.99

    Into the dark

    Can you remember the first time you encountered true darkness? The kind that remains as black and inky whether your eyes are open or closed? Where you can’t see your hand in front of your face? Jacqueline Yallop can. It was in an unfamiliar bedroom while holidaying in Yorkshire as a child, and ever since then she has been fascinated by the dark, by our efforts to capture or avoid it, by the meanings we give to it and the way our brains process it. Taking a journey into the dark secrets of place, body and mind, she documents a series of night-time walks, exploring both the physical realities of darkness and the psychological dark that helps shape our sense of self.

    £16.99
  • Knowing what we know

    £10.99

    Knowing what we know

    ‘A delightful compendium of the kind of facts you immediately want to share with anyone you encounter’ New York Times

    ‘An ebullient, irrepressible spirit invests this book. It is erudite and sprightly’Sunday Times

    £10.99
  • Now that’s what I call a history of the 1980s

    £14.99

    Now that’s what I call a history of the 1980s

    Now that’s what I call a history of the 1980s is a political and cultural History of Britain in the long 1980s in ten objects or moments. Neither a top down history, nor nostalgic celebration, it reframes the decade around local, national, and global politics of gender, race, age and sexuality.

    £14.99
  • Sand Talk

    £9.99

    Sand Talk

    In SAND TALK, Tyson Yunkaporta looks at global systems from an Indigenous perspective. He asks how contemporary life diverges from the pattern of creation. How does this affect us? How can we do things differently? This remarkable book provides a template for living. It’s about how lines and symbols and shapes can help us make sense of the world. It’s about how we learn and how we remember. It’s about talking to everybody and listening carefully. It’s about finding different ways to look at things. SAND TALK is about everything from echidnas to evolution, cosmology to cooking, sex and science and spirits to Schrodinger’s cat. Most of all it’s about Indigenous thinking, and how it can save the world.

    SKU: 9781922790514 Category: Tag:
    £9.99
  • Secrets of the Sprakkar

    £12.99

    Secrets of the Sprakkar

    Iceland is the best place on earth to be a woman – but why? For the past twelve years, the World Economic Forum’s Global Gender Gap Report has ranked Iceland number one on its list of countries closing the gap in equality between men and women. What is it about Iceland that makes many women’s experience there so positive? Eliza Reid, the First Lady of Iceland, examines her adopted homeland’s attitude toward women – the deep-seated cultural sense of fairness, the influence of current and historical role models, and, crucially, the areas where Iceland still has room for improvement.

    £12.99
  • The Seven Basic Plots

    £19.99

    The Seven Basic Plots

    **20th ANNIVERSARY EDITION** This remarkable and monumental book at last provides a comprehensive answer to the age-old riddle of whether there are only a small number of ‘basic stories’ in the world. Using a wealth of examples, from ancient myths and folk tales via the plays and novels of great literature to the popular movies and TV soap operas of today, it shows that there are seven archetypal themes which recur throughout every kind of storytelling. But this is only the prelude to an investigation into how and why we are ‘programmed’ to imagine stories in these ways, and how they relate to the inmost patterns of human psychology. Drawing on a vast array of examples, from Proust to detective stories, from the Marquis de Sade to E.T., Christopher Booker then leads us through the extraordinary changes in the nature of storytelling over the past 200 years, and why so many stories have ‘lost the plot’ by losing touch with their underl

    £19.99
  • Waterlog

    £10.99

    Waterlog

    Inspired by John Cheever’s classic short story, ‘The Swimmer’, Roger Deakin set out from his home in Suffolk to swim through the British Isles. The result of his journey is this personal view of an island race.

    £10.99
  • Without ever reaching the summit

    £10.99

    Without ever reaching the summit

    Paolo Cognetti marked his 40th birthday with a journey he had always wanted to make: to Dolpo, a remote Himalayan region where Nepal meets Tibet. He took with him two friends, a notebook, mules and guides, and a well-worn copy of ‘The Snow Leopard’. Written in 1978, Matthiessen’s classic was also turning forty, and Cognetti set out to walk in the footsteps of the great adventurer. ‘Without Ever Reaching the Summit’ combines travel journal, secular pilgrimage, literary homage and sublime mountain writing in a short book for readers of Macfarlane, Rebanks and Cognetti’s own bestseller, ‘The Eight Mountains’. An investigation into the author’s physical limits, an ancient mountain culture, and the magnificence of nature, it is an awestruck love letter to one of the most spectacular places on earth.

    £10.99