Fiction: general & literary

Showing 1–16 of 27 results

  • A true account

    £9.99

    A true account

    From New York Times bestselling author Katherine Howe comes a daring first-hand account of Hannah Masury’s rousing adventure as one of the most feared and admired sea rovers of all time

    £9.99
  • Another Person

    £9.99

    Another Person

    A compulsively readable and razor-sharp campus novel about the impact of power and consent in a university settingPerfect for fans of Cho Nam-joo, I May Destroy You, and If We Were Villains by M. L. RioRiveting and uncompromising, Another Person explores the long-lasting consequences of the sexism and misogyny fostered in universities.Vacuum cleaner bitch.When Jina sees this anonymous comment on a forum it forces her out of her stupor. It is posted on a website dissecting her public allegations of workplace sexual assault, the backlash to which forced her to quit her job. She has spent months glued to her laptop screen, junk-food packaging piling up around her, tracking the hate campaign that’s raging against her online. This post stands out from the noise, for it could only have been made by someone who knew her as a student at university.The comment stirs something deeply repressed. So Jina returns to Anjin University, and to the toxi

    £9.99
  • Anyone’s ghost

    £16.99

    Anyone’s ghost

    A gorgeous modern love-story about two young men who meet, almost fall in-love, and find their lives caught up in three car crashes – for fans of Call Me By Your Name

    £16.99
  • Ariadne

    £9.99

    Ariadne

    As Princesses of Crete and daughters of the fearsome King Minos, Ariadne and her sister Phaedra grow up hearing the hoofbeats and bellows of the Minotaur echo from the Labyrinth beneath the palace. The Minotaur – Minos’s greatest shame and Ariadne’s brother – demands blood every year. When Theseus, Prince of Athens, arrives in Crete as a sacrifice to the beast, Ariadne falls in love with him. But helping Theseus kill the monster means betraying her family and country, and Ariadne knows only too well that in a world ruled by mercurial gods – drawing their attention can cost you everything. In a world where women are nothing more than the pawns of powerful men, will Ariadne’s decision to betray Crete for Theseus ensure her happy ending? Or will she find herself sacrificed for her lover’s ambition?

    £9.99
  • Baumgartner

    £9.99

    Baumgartner

    Baumgartner’s life has been defined by his deep, abiding love for his wife, Anna. But now Anna is gone, and Baumgartner is embarking on his seventies whilst trying to live with her absence. Rich with compassion, wit and Auster’s keen eye for beauty in the smallest, most transient episodes of ordinary life, ‘Baumgartner’ is a tender late masterpiece of the ache of memory. It asks: why do we find such meaning in certain moments, and forget others?

    £9.99
  • Bucket list

    £9.99

    Bucket list

    When pensioner Dot wins the lottery, her newfound friend Max helps her make a bucket list of all the things she’s always wanted to do but never had the chance. Bucket List is a humorous feel-good, life-affirming novel about the power of friendship, community and lemon drizzle cake.

    £9.99
  • Crook manifesto

    £9.99

    Crook manifesto

    1971. Trash is piled on the streets, crime is at a record high, and the city is careening towards bankruptcy. A shooting war has broken out between the NYPD and the Black Liberation Army. Ray Carney, furniture-store owner and ex fence, is trying to keep his head down, his business up, and his life on the straight and narrow. His only immediate need is Jackson 5 tickets for his daughter May, so what harm could it do to hit up Munson, his old police contact and fixer extraordinaire? And suddenly, staying out of the game becomes more complicated – and deadly. When one of Ray’s tenants is badly injured in a fire, he enlists the enduringly violent Pepper to look into how it started, leading the duo to battle their way through a crumbling metropolis run by the shady, the violent and the utterly corrupt.

    SKU: 9780349727660 Category: Tag:
    £9.99
  • Dark Mode

    £8.99

    Dark Mode

    Once you’re online, there’s nowhere to hide  Is it paranoia – or is someone watching?   For years, Reagan Carsen has kept her life offline. No socials. No internet presence. No photos. Safe.    Until the day she stumbles on a shocking murder in a Sydney laneway. The victim looks just like her.  Coincidence?    As more murders shake the city and she’s increasingly drawn out from hiding, Reagan is forced to confront her greatest fear.  She’s been found.    A riveting psychological thriller drawn from true events, Dark Mode delves into the terrifying reality of the dark web, and the price we pay for surrendering our privacy one click at a time.PRAISE for Dark Mode LoveReading Book of the Month April 2023 ‘A Hitchcockian chiller with a powerful sense of rampant terror’ – Maxim Jakubowski, Crime Time ‘Drawn from real life cases, this brilliantly twisty thriller exposes the grim

    £8.99
  • Effi Briest

    £10.99

    Effi Briest

    An exceptional translation of Fontane’s masterpiece: one of the great 19th-century novels of adultery to stand beside Anna Karenina and Madame Bovary”A stunningly moving, beautiful, witty and urbane novel: I was blown away by it” ? Kate Saunders, author of The Secrets of WishtideIn this witty masterpiece of poetic realism, expertly translated by Hugh Rorrison, Effi Briest shows Theodor Fontane at the height of his talents, as he questions the hypocrisies and destructive values of middle-class society.Effi Briest is only 17 when she is married off to Baron von Innstetten, travelling to live with him in a provincial town on the remote Baltic coast of Prussia. He is 20 years her senior, an ambitious bureaucrat uninterested in his young wife, and lively Effi becomes increasingly isolated, bored and anxious in her stifling surroundings.A half-hearted affair with Major Crampas – a manipulative married man with a reputation for womanisi

    £10.99
  • Falling animals

    £8.99

    Falling animals

    On an isolated beach set against a lonely, windswept coastline, a pale figure sits serenely against a sand dune staring out to sea. Months later, after a fruitless investigation, the nameless stranger is buried in an unmarked grave. But the mystery of his life and death lingers on, drawing the nearby villagers into its wake. From strandings to shipwrecks, it is not the first time that strangeness has washed up on their shores. Told through a chorus of voices, ‘Falling Animals’ follows the crosshatching threads of lives both true and imagined, real and surreal, past and present.

    £8.99
  • Ms Ice Sandwich

    £8.99

    Ms Ice Sandwich

    A boy is obsessed with a woman who sells sandwiches. He goes to the supermarket almost every day, just so he can look at her face. She is beautiful to him, and he calls her ‘Ms Ice Sandwich’, and endlessly draws her portrait. But the boy’s friend hears about this hesitant adoration, and suddenly everything changes. His visits to Ms Ice Sandwich stop, and with them the last hopes of his childhood.

    £8.99
  • Seeing Other People

    £8.99

    Seeing Other People

    Sydney Morning Herald Best Young Australian Novelist 2022 SHORTLISTED for the INDIE AWARD for BEST FICTION SHORTLISTED for the ABIA for Literary Fiction LONGLISTED for the BookPeople Book of the Year for Fiction  ‘This! Was! So! Good! … Diana Reid you are in a total league of your own.’ – Zara McDonald, Shameless Podcast ‘Seeing Other People will be the book of the summer.’ – PedestrianTV’An extraordinary new voice in Aussie lit.’ ? Zoë Foster Blake ‘a captivating read that feels made for racing through while lying on the beach.’ ? Vogue AustraliaCharlie’s skin was stinging. Not with heat or sweat, but with that intense, body-defining self-consciousness?that sense of being watched. She lowered her eyes from Eleanor’s loving gaze. Her throat taut with tears, she swallowed. ‘You’re a good sister, Eleanor.”Don’t say that.’ After two years of lockdowns, there’s change in the air. Eleanor has

    SKU: 9781761151705 Category: Tag:
    £8.99
  • Service

    £9.99

    Service

    A “powerful and compelling” novel about power, consent, and complicity in our #MeToo era ? for fans of Sweetbitter and I Have Some Questions for You (Joseph O’Connor, author of My Father’s House)Tensions are at an all-time high in an upscale Dublin restaurant as its employees grapple with the fallout from a shocking scandal involving its head chefThe waitress, the chef, and the chef’s wife may all lovingly describe the food, but they agree on little else as their 3 voices reveal a story of power and complicity, and the courage it takes to face the truth.When Hannah learns that famed chef Daniel Costello is facing accusations of sexual assault, she’s thrown back to the summer she spent waitressing at his high-end Dublin restaurant when she was a young college student? the plush splendour of the dining rooms, the wild parties after service, the sizzling tension of the kitchens. But Hannah also remembers how the attention fro

    £9.99
  • Slow Boat

    £9.99

    Slow Boat

    A startling novella from the heir to Haruki Murakami and Gabriel GarcÝa Mßrquez: part of our Japanese novella series, showcasing the best contemporary Japanese writing

    SKU: 9781805331414 Category: Tags: ,
    £9.99
  • Swan Song

    £9.99

    Swan Song

    They told him everything. He told everyone else. Over countless martini-soaked Manhattan lunches, they shared their deepest secrets and greatest fears. On exclusive yachts sailing the Mediterranean, on private jets streaming towards Jamaica, on Yucatán beaches in secluded bays, they gossiped about sex, power, money, love and fame. They never imagined he would betray them so absolutely.

    £9.99
  • The black Eden

    £9.99

    The black Eden

    1956, the Scottish Highlands: Aaron and Robbie, a schoolmaster’s son and a farmer’s boy, are fast friends with a shared passion for diving, but very divergent ideas of what they will do with their lives. Meanwhile, Mark and Ally, bright pupils at Edinburgh’s grandest private school, are aspiring to make change in the world – one through high finance, the other on the political stage. And Joseph, heir to an Aberdeen trawler-fishing dynasty, is brooding over whether his true ambitions are set higher than his father’s succession plan. For each of them, the discovery of oil under the North Sea will make their dreams achievable. But behind the promise and temptation of ‘black gold,’ there is a price to be paid. Soon, they will discover that oil can overthrow relationships, turn friends into foes, and even put lives in peril.

    £9.99