Fiction in translation

Showing 1–16 of 95 results

  • A Shining ? WINNER OF THE 2023 NOBEL PRIZE IN LITERATURE

    £8.99

    A Shining ? WINNER OF THE 2023 NOBEL PRIZE IN LITERATURE

    Strange, haunting and dreamlike, A Shining is the latest work of fiction by Jon Fosse, ‘the Beckett of the twenty-first century’ (Le Monde).

    £8.99
  • A silent language

    £6.99

    A silent language

    Published in book form for the first time, Jon Fosse’s Nobel Lecture, delivered in Stockholm in December 2023, translated by Damion Searls. 

    SKU: 9781804271230 Category: Tags: , ,
    £6.99
  • A Woman’s Story – WINNER OF THE 2022 NOBEL PRIZE IN LITERATURE

    £9.99

    A Woman’s Story – WINNER OF THE 2022 NOBEL PRIZE IN LITERATURE

    A deeply affecting tribute to her mother’s life and death by Annie Ernaux, winner of the 2022 Nobel Prize in Literature. 

    SKU: 9781804270943 Category: Tags: , ,
    £9.99
  • Amma

    £12.99

    Amma

    This trauma becomes the defining moment in the lives of Josephina, her daughter Sithera, and her granddaughter Annie. The effects cascade through generations as Annie sets out across the world to discover what happened to split up her family. Set in Sri Lanka, Singapore, New Zealand, Australia and London, this is a novel about family, displacement, secrets, and how the past lives with us forever. Written in sensuous, vivid prose, ‘Amma’ tells the story of the rich history and unknown future of the Sri Lankan diaspora – and of one family desperately trying to find peace.

    SKU: 9781739260149 Category: Tag:
    £12.99
  • An astronomer in love

    £9.99

    An astronomer in love

    In 1760, Guillaume le Gentil, real-life astronomer to King Louis XV, sets out for the oceans of India to document the transit of Venus. The weather is turbulent, the seas are rough and his quest may be more complicated than initially thought. 250 years later, estate agent Xavier Lemercier chances upon Guillaume’s telescope in a property he’s sold. As he looks out across the rooftops of Paris, he discovers an intriguing woman with a zebra in her apartment. Then the woman walks through the doors of his office, and his life changes forever.

    £9.99
  • Before your memory fades

    £9.99

    Before your memory fades

    The third novel from the author of the phenomenon Before the Coffee Gets Cold: tales from a little cafe in Hakodate, Cafe Donna Donna, where customers may travel through time – if they obey the rules. For fans of The Guest Cat and If Cats Disappeared from the World.

    £9.99
  • Beware of pity

    £9.99

    Beware of pity

    In 1913 young second lieutenant Hofmiller discovers the terrible danger of pity. He had no idea the girl was lame when he asked her to dance – so begins a series of visits, motivated by pity, which relieves his guilt but give her a dangerous glimmer of hope.

    SKU: 9781805330226 Category: Tag:
    £9.99
  • Botchan

    £9.99

    Botchan

    Botchan is a modern young man from the Tokyo metropolis, sent to the ultra-traditional Matsuyama district as a maths teacher after his the death of his parents. Cynical, rebellious and immature, Botchan finds himself facing several tests, from the pupils – prone to playing tricks on their new, naive teacher.

    £9.99
  • Butter

    £14.99

    Butter

    ‘Compelling, delightfully weird, often uncomfortable’ PANDORA SYKES

    ‘Unputdownable, breathtakingly original’ ERIN KELLY

    Delicious’ i-D Magazine

    ‘Luscious ? I devoured this’ IMOGEN CRIMP

    £14.99
  • Chess

    £9.99

    Chess

    On a cruise ship bound for Buenos Aires, a wealthy passenger challenges the world chess champion to a match. He agrees, but only on one condition – that the stakes are suitably high. Soon, the chessboard is surrounded with onlookers – and one voice in the crowd will play a key role in the outcome of the match.

    SKU: 9780241630822 Category: Tags: ,
    £9.99
  • Child of fortune

    £9.99

    Child of fortune

    Koko won’t do what is expected of her. Defying her family’s wishes, she has brought up her eleven-year-old daughter alone in her apartment. And now, after a casual affair, she is unexpectedly pregnant again. What will this mean for her already troubled relationship with her daughter? As she faces the future, memories of her own childhood loss flood into her consciousness, threatening to overwhelm her.

    £9.99
  • Collected stories

    £9.99

    Collected stories

    Sweeping through crumbling towns, travelling fairs and windswept ports, Gabriel García Márquez introduces a host of extraordinary characters and communities in his magical tales of everyday life.

    £9.99
  • Days at the Morisaki bookshop

    £10.99

    Days at the Morisaki bookshop

    Hidden in Jinbocho, Tokyo is a booklover’s paradise. On a quiet corner in an old wooden building lies a shop filled with hundreds of second-hand books. Twenty-five-year-old Takano has never liked reading, although the Morisaki bookshop has been in her family for three generations. It is the pride and joy of her uncle Ojisan, who has devoted his life to the bookshop since his wife Momoki left him five years earlier. When Takano’s boyfriend reveals he’s marrying someone else, she reluctantly accepts her eccentric uncle’s offer to live rent-free in the tiny room above the shop. Hoping to nurse her broken heart in peace, Takano is surprised to encounter new worlds within the stacks of books lining the Morisaki bookshop. As summer fades to autumn, Ojisan and Takano discover they have more in common than they first thought.

    £10.99
  • Death in midsummer

    £9.99

    Death in midsummer

    Filled with rich description and luxurious beauty, these ten tales of loss and longing from one of Japan’s greatest writers show the pull between duty and desire, ecstasy and death: a mother lost in mourning, a moonlit journey to fulfil a wish, a night of infidelity, a young lieutenant who ends his life.

    £9.99
  • Death of the red rider

    £9.99

    Death of the red rider

    On the eve of the Great Purge, a horseman and horse mysteriously collapse in the middle of a race in Leningrad. Weary Detective Zaitsev, still raw from his last brush with the Party, is dispatched to the Soviet state cavalry school in Novocherkassk, southern Russia, to investigate. As he witnesses the horror of the Holodomor, and the impact of Soviet collectivisation, he struggles to penetrate the murky, secretive world of the cavalry school.

    £9.99
  • Doppler

    £7.99

    Doppler

    Doppler loses his father, leaves his family and decides to move into the woods. When he kills a she-elk for meat, he’s adopted by her calf with whom he gradually becomes friends. He names the little elk Bongo. This is a charming, absurd and subversive novel with serious undertones and criticism of our modern consumer society.

    £7.99