Historical fiction

Showing 1–16 of 151 results

  • A history of burning

    £9.99

    A history of burning

    India, 1898: Pirbhai is thirteen when he steps into a dhow on the vague promise of work – his family is suffering and he will do anything to help. Forced to labour for the British on the East Africa Railway, he has no money, no voice, no power. Sonal is fierce and loving, always willing to fight for what she believes in. When Pirbhai, weathered from his time on the railway but not broken, walks into her father’s shop, she knows he is part of her future, and together they set out for a new life in Uganda. So begins the story of their family as they scatter across the world, fleeing the brutality of Idi Amin.

    £9.99
  • A marriage of fortune

    £8.99

    A marriage of fortune

    England, 1469. As the War of the Roses rages on, Margaret Paston knows that there is only one way to survive the loss of the Paston’s family seat, Caister Castle: a fortunate marriage for one of her unruly daughters. A favourable match will change the future of her family overnight but a scandal will ruin the Paston name forever.

    £8.99
  • A Month in the Country

    £9.99

    A Month in the Country

    In the summer of 1920, a young man escapes London to embark on the unveiling of a medieval church wall painting in a small north country village. As he becomes absorbed by his work so too does he get drawn into the lives of those around him.

    £9.99
  • A Passage to India

    £9.99

    A Passage to India

    What really happened to Miss Quested in the Marabar Caves? This tantalising question provides the intense drama of racial tension at the centre of Forster’s last and greatest novel.

    SKU: 9780241540428 Category: Tags: ,
    £9.99
  • A ripple of darkness

    £9.99

    A ripple of darkness

    Born into a poor household in 1860’s London, George experiences a terrible trauma as a thirteen year old when he believes his friend has drowned in the Thames. George blames himself and it haunts and shapes his life, with the incident constantly replayed and changed in his memory.

    SKU: 9781803136837 Category: Tag:
    £9.99
  • A sign of her own

    £18.99

    A sign of her own

    Ellen Lark is on the verge of marriage when she and her fiancé receive an unexpected visit from Alexander Graham Bell. Ellen knows immediately what Bell really wants from her. Ellen is deaf, and for a time was Bell’s student in a technique called Visible Speech. As he instructed her in speaking, Bell also confided in her about his dream of producing a device which would transmit the human voice along a wire: the telephone. Now, on the cusp of wealth and renown, Bell wants Ellen to speak up in support of his claim to the patent to the telephone, which is being challenged by rivals. But Ellen has a different story to tell: that of how Bell betrayed her, and other deaf pupils, in pursuit of ambition and personal gain, and cut Ellen off from a community in which she had come to feel truly at home.

    £18.99
  • A Single Shard

    £6.99

    A Single Shard

    A SPECIAL 20TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION OF THIS AWARD-WINNING TALE ABOUT THE POWER OF PERSEVERANCE BY THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF A LONG WALK TO WATER 

    £6.99
  • A Wreath for Udomo

    £9.99

    A Wreath for Udomo

    Those men who are history now; did they feel like this? A 1950s Hampstead pub; a freezing night. Lois can’t tear her eyes away from the haunted, restless African man in the corner. Over brandy and stew, she discovers he is in awe of her friend, Panafrica’s greatest political writer and fighter. Their meeting inducts this stranger, Udomo, into London’s revolutionary community of exiled African activists: the start of a life-changing journey. Amidst the internal politics and love affairs, Udomo is inspired by other leaders’ independence uprisings; but when he returns to his native land to overthrow the colonial oppressors, his idealism is put to the ultimate test. Inspired by Peter Abrahams’ befriending of future African heads of state in mid-century London, ‘A Wreath for Udomo’ (1956) is a radical lost classic, unforgettably exploring the nature of freedom, power, leadership, and love.

    £9.99
  • Alchemy

    £9.99

    Alchemy

    The new historical crime thriller, a Sunday Times bestseller, perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Hilary Mantel

    £9.99
  • All the light we cannot see

    £20.00

    All the light we cannot see

    SOON A MAJOR NETFLIX SERIES – from director Shawn Levy, starring Louis Hofmann, Lars Eidinger and Marion Bailey, with Hugh Laurie and Mark Ruffalo, and introducing Aria Mia Loberti.

    WINNER OF THE 2015 PULITZER PRIZE FOR FICTION
    NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST
    NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
    WINNER OF THE CARNEGIE MEDAL FOR FICTION

    £20.00
  • An astronomer in love

    £9.99

    An astronomer in love

    In 1760, Guillaume le Gentil, real-life astronomer to King Louis XV, sets out for the oceans of India to document the transit of Venus. The weather is turbulent, the seas are rough and his quest may be more complicated than initially thought. 250 years later, estate agent Xavier Lemercier chances upon Guillaume’s telescope in a property he’s sold. As he looks out across the rooftops of Paris, he discovers an intriguing woman with a zebra in her apartment. Then the woman walks through the doors of his office, and his life changes forever.

    £9.99
  • Argentum

    £8.99

    Argentum

    3000 BCE, east Mediterranean. A slave digs a silver nugget out of the ground at an Anatolian mine, launching it on a journey through the ages to the present day. Crisscrossing the globe, travelling into space and plunging to the seabed, it features in a series of world-changing historical events.

    SKU: 9781915352682 Category: Tag:
    £8.99
  • Asterix and the white iris

    £8.99

    Asterix and the white iris

    A strange new philosophy is gaining popularity amongst the Roman soldiers. When its enchanting influence reaches the Gauls, everything they once held dear is turned upside down. Armed with their trademark humour, bravery, and trusty magic potion, can our heroic duo save the Chief’s wife and break the spell of the White Iris?

    £8.99
  • Battle song

    £9.99

    Battle song

    Adam de Norton, a young squire devoted to the virtues of chivalry, longs only to be knighted, and to win back his father’s lands. Then a bloody hunting accident leaves him with a new master: the devilish Sir Robert de Dunstanville, who does not hesitate to use the blackest stratagems in pursuit of victory. Following Robert overseas, Adam is introduced to the ruthless world of the tournament, where knights compete for glory and riches, and his new master’s methods prove brutally effective. But as England plunges into violence, Robert and Adam must choose a side in a battle that will decide the fate of the kingdom.

    £9.99
  • Betrothal & betrayal

    £9.99

    Betrothal & betrayal

    The first volume in a young adult thriller series about the formidable Empress Irini – the only woman to have ruled the Roman Empire of the East, Byzantium 770 AD.

    £9.99
  • Biggles in the Baltic

    £12.99

    Biggles in the Baltic

    War is declared, and Biggles is ready for action! September 1939. Britain has declared war on Germany. Major James Bigglesworth, known to his friends as ‘Biggles’, is eager to get straight into the action alongside old friends Algernon ‘Algy’ Lacey and ‘Ginger’ Hebblethwaite. They don’t have to wait long. The British government has covertly acquired a small island in the Baltic, off the north coast of Germany. The island is unremarkable save for one feature: a natural sea cave, unknown to the Germans, large enough to house several aircraft. Biggles’ orders: wreak havoc on German forces for as long as possible without compromising the location of the secret base. It’s a dangerous mission, for the might of the enemy military machine will be bent on finding them, led by Biggles’ old nemesis, Erich von Stalhein.

    £12.99