Historical romance

Showing 1–16 of 34 results

  • Atlas

    £9.99

    Atlas

    The unforgettable final novel. Co-authored by her son, Harry Whittaker, Atlas: The Story of Pa Salt is the conclusion to Lucinda Riley’s multimillion-copy selling epic Seven Sisters series.

    £9.99
  • Emma

    £9.99

    Emma

    Austen’s feistiest heroine in a gorgeous special edition, illustrated by Hugh Thomson and featuring bonus material by Jane Austen expert Sophie Reynolds.

    £9.99
  • Emma Watson

    £9.99

    Emma Watson

    Emma Watson is an ingenious continuation of The Watsons, one of Jane Austen’s intriguing unfinished novels, by the acclaimed novelist Joan Aiken.

    SKU: 9781529093032 Category: Tag:
    £9.99
  • Execution

    £8.99

    Execution

    The No. 1 Sunday Times bestselling series set during the reign of Queen Elizabeth I, perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel’s Wolf Hall trilogy and Netflix’s The Crown 

    ‘Gripping’ Sunday Times

    ‘Fast-paced and entertaining’ Mail on Sunday

    £8.99
  • How to solve murders like a lady

    £9.99

    How to solve murders like a lady

    Violet Hamilton is no ordinary lady. She is a Lady Detective, who spends her time solving mysteries and unveiling scandals in the bustling seaside town of St Leonards, a popular spot for the Victorian middle classes. But when the body of a local woman is found on the tourist railway, Violet’s efforts to investigate are blocked at every turn. Is that because, as a woman, she can’t possibly be allowed to think or act for herself? Or is it because someone sinister has Violet in their sights? Jane Austen meets Sherlock Holmes in this delightful mystery of manners that will steal your heart, and transport you to a world of seaside scandal and moonlit balls; dubious doctors and duplicitous dukes; formal teas and stolen kisses.

    £9.99
  • In memoriam

    £9.99

    In memoriam

    It’s 1914, and talk of war feels far away to Henry Gaunt, Sidney Ellwood and the rest of their classmates, safely ensconced in their idyllic boarding school in the English countryside. At seventeen, they’re too young to enlist, and anyway, Gaunt is fighting his own private battle – an all-consuming infatuation with his best friend, the dreamy, poetic Ellwood – not having a clue that Ellwood is in love with him, always has been. When Gaunt’s German mother asks him to enlist as an officer in the British army to protect the family from anti-German attacks, Gaunt signs up immediately, relieved to escape his overwhelming feelings for Ellwood. The front is horrific, of course, and though Gaunt tries to dissuade Ellwood from joining him on the battlefield, Ellwood soon rushes to join him, spurred on by his love of Greek heroes and romantic poetry. Before long, their classmates have followed suit.

    £9.99
  • Learned by heart

    £9.99

    Learned by heart

    The sensational historical novel from the bestselling author of The Pull of the Stars and The Wonder.

    £9.99
  • Love is a curse

    £20.00

    Love is a curse

    A single sentence, that was all it took to define Cammy’s life. They came as her beloved artist aunt was dying, a teenage Cammy standing by her bedside: ‘Did your mother ever tell you about the curse?’ Cammy is warned that the women in her family are destined always to lose the one they love. She thinks nothing of it – until the day when, in her late twenties, her new boyfriend is hit by a car. Convinced she is to blame, Cammy begins to investigate the one-hundred-and-fifty-year story of a family that is both ordinary and remarkable, tragic and beautiful. But is the curse real, or is there an answer lurking in the letters, diaries and paintings of generations of women whose hearts were broken?

    £20.00
  • Love Is Blind

    £8.99

    Love Is Blind

    When Brodie is offered a job in Paris, he seizes the chance to flee Edinburgh and his tyrannical clergyman father, and begin a wildly different new chapter in his life. In Paris, a fateful encounter with a famous pianist irrevocably changes his future – and sparks an obsessive love affair with a beautiful Russian soprano, Lika Blum. Moving from Paris to St Petersburg to Edinburgh and back again, Brodie’s love for Lika and its dangerous consequences pursue him around Europe and beyond, during an era of overwhelming change as the nineteenth century becomes the twentieth.

    £8.99
  • Mansfield Park

    £10.99

    Mansfield Park

    Austen’s classic novel about class and virtue, introduced by historian and author Nigel Cliff and fully illustrated by Hugh Thomson.

    £10.99
  • Matchmaking: The Jane Austen Memory Game

    £14.99

    Matchmaking: The Jane Austen Memory Game

    Match up Jane Austen’s iconic characters with their romantic partners in this charming memory game

    SKU: 9781399601252 Category: Tags: , ,
    £14.99
  • Mrs Porter calling

    £9.99

    Mrs Porter calling

    Set in wartime Britain, Mrs Porter Calling is the unforgettable follow-up to AJ Pearce’s bestselling Yours Cheerfully and Dear Mrs Bird.

    SKU: 9781035000807 Category: Tags: ,
    £9.99
  • No life for a lady

    £9.99

    No life for a lady

    Violet Hamilton is a woman who knows her own mind – which, in 1896, can make things a little complicated. At 28, Violet’s father is beginning to worry she will never find a husband. But every suitor he presents, Violet finds a new and inventive means of rebuffing. Because Violet does not want to marry. She wants to work, and make her own way in the world. But more than anything, she wants to find her mother Lily, who disappeared from Hastings Pier 10 years earlier. Finding the missing is no job for a lady, but when Violet hires a seaside detective to help, she sets off a chain of events that will put more than just her reputation at risk. Can Violet solve the mystery of Lily Hamilton’s vanishing before it’s too late?

    £9.99
  • Northanger Abbey

    £10.99

    Northanger Abbey

    Jane Austen’s superb pastiche of the gothic romance with an afterword by David Pinching.

    £10.99
  • Our hideous progeny

    £16.99

    Our hideous progeny

    Mary is the great-niece of Victor Frankenstein. She knows her uncle disappeared in mysterious circumstances in the Arctic but she doesn’t know why or how. She and her husband are trying to make a name for themselves as paleontologists but, in 1850s’ London, scientific success requires wealth and connections – neither of which they possess. But then Mary discovers some old family papers that allude to the truth behind her great-uncle’s past, of his attempts to create a living being and the creature that ultimately killed him. Perhaps this idea will prove to be their salvation.

    £16.99
  • Pride and prejudice

    £9.99

    Pride and prejudice

    A gorgeous special edition of Jane Austen’s most enduring and popular novel, with original illustrations by Hugh Thomson and bonus material by Jane Austen expert Sophie Reynolds.

    £9.99