Fiction A-z

Showing 529–540 of 640 results

  • The No-Show

    £14.99

    The No-Show

    8.52 a.m. Siobhan’s been looking forward to her breakfast date with Joseph. She was surprised when he suggested it – she normally sees him late at night in her hotel room. Breakfast with Joseph on Valentine’s Day surely means something, so where is he? 2.43 p.m. Miranda’s hoping that a Valentine’s Day lunch with Carter will be the perfect way to celebrate her new job. It’s a fresh start and a sign that her grown-up life is finally falling into place: she’s been dating Carter for five months now and things are getting serious. But why hasn’t he shown up? 6.30 p.m. Joseph Carter agreed to be Jane’s fake boyfriend at a colleague’s engagement party. They’ve not known each other long but their friendship is fast becoming the brightest part of her new life in Winchester. Joseph promised to save Jane tonight. But he’s not here. Meet Joseph Carter. That is, if you can find him.

    £14.99
  • Red, White and Royal Blue

    £8.99

    Red, White and Royal Blue

    From the instant New York Times-bestselling author Casey McQuiston comes the Tik-Tok sensation Red, White & Royal Blue

    SKU: 9781529099461 Category: Tag:
    £8.99
  • A Net for Small Fishes

    £8.99

    A Net for Small Fishes

    Frances Howard has beauty and a powerful family – and is the most unhappy creature in the world. Anne Turner has wit and talent – but no stage on which to display them. Little stands between her and the abyss of destitution. When these two very different women meet in the strangest of circumstances, a powerful friendship is sparked. Frankie sweeps Anne into a world of splendour that exceeds all she imagined: a Court whose foreign king is a stranger to his own subjects; where ancient families fight for power, and where the sovereign’s favourite may rise and rise – so long as he remains in favour. With the marriage of their talents, Anne and Frankie enter this extravagant, savage hunting ground, seeking a little happiness for themselves. But as they gain notice, they also gain enemies; what began as a search for love and safety leads to desperate acts that could cost them everything.

    £8.99
  • Young Mungo

    £16.99

    Young Mungo

    The second powerful and heart-rending novel, set in 80s Glasgow, from Douglas Stuart, Booker Prize- and British Book Award-winning author of Shuggie Bain.

    £16.99
  • Garden Stories

    £12.99

    Garden Stories

    Spectacular gardens are viewed from the perspective of a snail in Virginia Woolf’s ‘Kew Gardens’ and from that of a sheltered teenage girl in Katherine Mansfield’s ‘The Garden Party’. The family of Doris Lessing’s ‘Flavours of Exile’ haul succulent vegetables and fruits from the rich African soil, and Colette in ‘Bygone Spring’ luxuriates in extravagantly blooming flowers. Children discover their own peculiar paradises in Sandra Cisneros’s ‘The Monkey Garden’ and Italo Calvino’s ‘The Enchanted Garden’, while adult gardeners find things that move and haunt them in William Maxwell’s ‘The French Scarecrow’ and Jamaica Kincaid’s ‘The Garden I Have in Mind’. An entrancing book for everyone who loves gardens and the beauty of nature.

    £12.99
  • Harvest

    £9.99

    Harvest

    So fresh and free she looked, in the yellow dress. Sunlight to blaze away the shadows. A farm in Norfolk in the 1970s. A Japanese girl comes to visit her English lover in the house where he was born. She arrives on a day of perfect summer, stands with his mother in a garden filled with roses, watches as his brother walks fields of ripening wheat. But between the two brothers lies the shadow of their father’s violent death almost twenty years before, the unresolved narrative of their childhood – a story that has gone untold, a story that began in the last war. In the presence of the girl, the old trauma begins to surface as the work of the harvest begins. In a compelling addition to Harding’s cycle of acclaimed novels on themes of witness, memory and silence, on what goes unsaid long after wars are over, ‘Harvest’ tells how a family reaps the consequences of its past.

    SKU: 9781526625106 Category: Tags: ,
    £9.99
  • One Last Stop

    £8.99

    One Last Stop

    From the New York Times bestselling author of Red, White & Royal Blue comes a new romantic comedy that will stop readers in their tracks…

    SKU: 9781529099485 Category: Tag:
    £8.99
  • Ghosted

    £8.99

    Ghosted

    One ordinary morning, Laurie’s husband Mark vanishes, leaving behind his phone and wallet. For weeks, she tells no one, carrying on her job as a cleaner at the local university, visiting her tricky, dementia-suffering father and holing up in her tower-block flat with a bottle to hand. When she finally reports Mark as missing, the police are suspicious. Why did she take so long? Wasn’t she worried? It turns out there are many more mysteries in Laurie’s account of events, though not just because she glosses over the facts. At the time, she couldn’t explain much of her behaviour herself. But as she looks back on the ensuing wreckage – the friendships broken, the wild accusations she made, the one-night stand – she can see more clearly what lay behind it. And if it’s not too late, she can see how she might repair the damage and, most of all, forgive herself.

    £8.99
  • Elizabeth Finch

    £16.99

    Elizabeth Finch

    Elizabeth Finch was a teacher, a thinker, an inspiration – always rigorous, always thoughtful. With careful empathy, she guided her students to develop meaningful ideas and to discover their centres of seriousness. As a former student unpacks her notebooks and remembers her uniquely inquisitive mind, her passion for reason resonates through the years. Her ideas unlock the philosophies of the past, and explore key events that show us how to make sense of our lives today. And underpinning them all is the story of J – Julian the Apostate, her historical soulmate and fellow challenger to the institutional and monotheistic thinking that has always threatened to divide us. This is more than a novel. It’s a loving tribute to philosophy, a careful evaluation of history, an invitation to think for ourselves. It’s a moment to reflect and to gently explore our own theories and assumptions.

    SKU: 9781787333932 Category: Tag:
    £16.99
  • Trespasses

    £14.99

    Trespasses

    Cushla Lavery lives with her mother in a small town near Belfast. At 24, she splits her time between her day job as a teacher to a class of 7-year-olds, and regular bartending shifts in the pub owned by her family. It’s here, on a day like any other – as the daily news rolls in of another car bomb exploding, another man shot, killed, beaten or left for dead – that she meets Michael Agnew, an older (and married) barrister who draws her into his sophisticated group of friends. When the father of a young boy in her class, becomes the victim of a savage attack, Cushla is compelled to help his family. But as her affair with Michael intensifies, political tensions in the town escalate, threatening to destroy all she is working to hold together.

    SKU: 9781526623324 Category: Tag:
    £14.99
  • Annie Stanley, All At Sea

    £8.99

    Annie Stanley, All At Sea

    An uplifting, life-affirming novel that starts with a death – for fans of Joanna Cannon, Rachel Joyce and Beth Morrey.

    £8.99
  • We Are Made of Diamond Stuff

    £9.99

    We Are Made of Diamond Stuff

    A 36 year old that looks like Eleven from Stranger Things works in a run-down hotel on an Isle of Wight battered by austerity. Polar bears emerge from t-shirts. Reebok Classics come to life. Blending fiction and critical writing and anarchic joy, this is a rakish, boundary erasing work that collides literary aesthetics with working class cultures and attitudes. Interrogating autobiographical material, it extends the avant-garde tradition to make it an ally for queer migrant experience, questions dreams of national belonging, while celebrating the radical potential of resistance, ingenuity, and friendship.

    SKU: 9781913512088 Category: Tag:
    £9.99