Fiction A-z

Showing 553–564 of 698 results

  • One Last Stop

    £8.99

    One Last Stop

    From the New York Times bestselling author of Red, White & Royal Blue comes a new romantic comedy that will stop readers in their tracks…

    SKU: 9781529099485 Category: Tag:
    £8.99
  • Elizabeth Finch

    £16.99

    Elizabeth Finch

    Elizabeth Finch was a teacher, a thinker, an inspiration – always rigorous, always thoughtful. With careful empathy, she guided her students to develop meaningful ideas and to discover their centres of seriousness. As a former student unpacks her notebooks and remembers her uniquely inquisitive mind, her passion for reason resonates through the years. Her ideas unlock the philosophies of the past, and explore key events that show us how to make sense of our lives today. And underpinning them all is the story of J – Julian the Apostate, her historical soulmate and fellow challenger to the institutional and monotheistic thinking that has always threatened to divide us. This is more than a novel. It’s a loving tribute to philosophy, a careful evaluation of history, an invitation to think for ourselves. It’s a moment to reflect and to gently explore our own theories and assumptions.

    SKU: 9781787333932 Category: Tag:
    £16.99
  • Ghosted

    £8.99

    Ghosted

    One ordinary morning, Laurie’s husband Mark vanishes, leaving behind his phone and wallet. For weeks, she tells no one, carrying on her job as a cleaner at the local university, visiting her tricky, dementia-suffering father and holing up in her tower-block flat with a bottle to hand. When she finally reports Mark as missing, the police are suspicious. Why did she take so long? Wasn’t she worried? It turns out there are many more mysteries in Laurie’s account of events, though not just because she glosses over the facts. At the time, she couldn’t explain much of her behaviour herself. But as she looks back on the ensuing wreckage – the friendships broken, the wild accusations she made, the one-night stand – she can see more clearly what lay behind it. And if it’s not too late, she can see how she might repair the damage and, most of all, forgive herself.

    £8.99
  • Trespasses

    £14.99

    Trespasses

    Cushla Lavery lives with her mother in a small town near Belfast. At 24, she splits her time between her day job as a teacher to a class of 7-year-olds, and regular bartending shifts in the pub owned by her family. It’s here, on a day like any other – as the daily news rolls in of another car bomb exploding, another man shot, killed, beaten or left for dead – that she meets Michael Agnew, an older (and married) barrister who draws her into his sophisticated group of friends. When the father of a young boy in her class, becomes the victim of a savage attack, Cushla is compelled to help his family. But as her affair with Michael intensifies, political tensions in the town escalate, threatening to destroy all she is working to hold together.

    SKU: 9781526623324 Category: Tag:
    £14.99
  • Annie Stanley, All At Sea

    £8.99

    Annie Stanley, All At Sea

    An uplifting, life-affirming novel that starts with a death – for fans of Joanna Cannon, Rachel Joyce and Beth Morrey.

    £8.99
  • We Are Made of Diamond Stuff

    £9.99

    We Are Made of Diamond Stuff

    A 36 year old that looks like Eleven from Stranger Things works in a run-down hotel on an Isle of Wight battered by austerity. Polar bears emerge from t-shirts. Reebok Classics come to life. Blending fiction and critical writing and anarchic joy, this is a rakish, boundary erasing work that collides literary aesthetics with working class cultures and attitudes. Interrogating autobiographical material, it extends the avant-garde tradition to make it an ally for queer migrant experience, questions dreams of national belonging, while celebrating the radical potential of resistance, ingenuity, and friendship.

    SKU: 9781913512088 Category: Tag:
    £9.99
  • Blue Woman

    £11.99

    Blue Woman

    ‘Blue Woman’ follows artist Rose Hartwood from her roots in a bombed out house in wartime London, to artistic fame, and back to obscurity. This beautiful novel charts the ebbs and flows of her personal and professional lives with great subtlety and sensitivity. We are taken along her journey rising to fame then coming back down again, re-building her life, forging a legacy. The book gradually reveals both artist and woman in their intertwined complexity: joy, struggle, determination, achievement, regret, the inheritances of love and the consolations of beauty.

    SKU: 9781838018153 Category: Tag:
    £11.99
  • The Parted Earth

    £11.99

    The Parted Earth

    Spanning more than half a century and cities from New Delhi to Atlanta, Anjali Enjeti’s debut is a heartfelt and human portrait of the long shadow of the Partition of India on the lives of three generations of women. The story begins in August 1947. Unrest plagues the streets of New Delhi leading up to the birth of the Muslim majority nation of Pakistan, and the Hindu majority nation of India. Sixteen-year-old Deepa navigates the changing politics of her home, finding solace in messages of intricate origami from her secret boyfriend Amir. Soon Amir flees with his family to Pakistan and a tragedy forces Deepa to leave the subcontinent forever. The story also begins sixty years later and half a world away, in Atlanta.

    SKU: 9781938235962 Category: Tag:
    £11.99
  • The Lost Storyteller

    £8.99

    The Lost Storyteller

    Rebecca hasn’t seen her father Leo since she was six. Her family never talk about him, and she has long since pushed him firmly to the back of her mind. All she knows is that, once upon a time, he was a well-loved children’s TV star. But when a journalist turns up uninvited at her office, asking questions about her once-famous father, Rebecca starts to wonder whether there is more to Leo’s absence than she realised. Then, looking for answers, she unearths a book of fairy tales written by Leo and dedicated to her – but what use are children’s stories to her now, all these years later?

    £8.99
  • The Paper Palace

    £8.99

    The Paper Palace

    Before anyone else is awake, Elle Bishop heads out for a swim in the glorious freshwater pond below ‘The Paper Palace’ – the gently decaying summer camp in the back woods of Cape Cod where her family has spent every summer for generations. As she passes the house, Elle glances through the screen porch at the table from the dinner the previous evening; empty wine glasses, candle wax on the tablecloth, echoes of laughter of family and friends. Then she dives beneath the surface of the freezing water to the shocking memory of the sudden passionate encounter she had the night before, up against the wall behind the house, as her husband and mother chatted to the guests inside. So begins a story that unfolds over 24 hours and across 50 years, as decades of family legacies, love, lies, secrets and one unspeakable incident in her childhood lead Elle to the precipice of a life-changing decision.

    SKU: 9780241990452 Category: Tag:
    £8.99
  • Magpie

    £8.99

    Magpie

    ‘Completely, terrifyingly BRILLIANT’
    Marian Keyes, author of Grown Ups

    ‘I didn’t want it to end’
    Lisa Taddeo, author of Three Women and Animal

    ‘Magnificent: I read it in one sitting’
    Kate Mosse, author of The City of Tears

    £8.99
  • The Beloved Girls

    £8.99

    The Beloved Girls

    Catherine, a successful barrister, vanishes from a train station on the eve of her anniversary. Is it because she saw a figure – someone she believed long dead? Or was it a shadow cast by her troubled, fractured mind? The answer lies buried in the past. It lies in the events of the hot, seismic summer of 1989, at Vanes – a mysterious West Country manor house – where a young girl, Jane Lestrange, arrives to stay with the gilded, grand Hunter family, and where a devastating tragedy will unfold. Over the summer, as an ancient family ritual looms closer, Janey falls for each member of the family in turn. She and Kitty, the eldest daughter of the house, will forge a bond that decades later, is still shaping the present.

    £8.99